How do your employees and teams stay motivated when working remotely?

Surely one of the key questions for managers: How do your employees and teams stay motivated and efficient - especially when working remotely? In this article, we have briefly summarized four approaches that support you in motivating your employees and teams daily.

These four approaches help you motivate your employees on a daily basis

According to Statista a lack of motivation and productivity of remote employees affected almost one in five German companies in 2020. Especially in German SMEs, the change in existing work models towards hybrid forms of work and remote work caused uncertainty in the workplace in the past year - both for individual employees and entire teams and departments. One thing is certain: employees now need more orientation than ever before. How do remote employees stay motivated?
homeofficepflicht unternehmensberatung münchen

Human closeness, continuous exchange and a sense of community - important aspects that require the utmost attention in virtual teams that are led in a decentralized way. Below, we have put together four concrete approaches that help you maintain and even increase employee motivation and productivity in your company over the long term.

1. Continuously communicate your company's vision!

The goals, values and visions of a company are often eclipsed by day-to-day operations. Especially when implementing hybrid work models, it is important to stay in touch with each individual employee through continuous communication.

By regularly communicating your corporate strategy and goals, you create a clear, mental framework for your remote employees. For you, too, as a manager, constantly raising awareness of your corporate goals is very helpful. This view on things helps you as a manager to look beyond everyday operations - and thus ensures advanced thought processes regarding the strategic orientation of the company.

2. Use the satisfaction of your customers as a form of motivation!

If your employees are not aware of the impact of their own work, the motivation and the usual quality of the results will be lost in the long run. Therefore, remind your teams of the impact of their work by, for example, communicating and sharing positive feedback from customers or business partners in a timely manner.

heimarbeit jobs münchen

Successful work results of individual employees or teams can thus be highlighted by you as a manager - making your colleagues feel connected to their employer and the company's goals even outside of their remote workspace. This not only promotes the motivation of your team sustainably but also enhances success and productivity.

3. Use close feedback loops with your employees for a proactive exchange!

Take a proactive approach to remote work collaboration. Particularly in decentralized cooperation, it is essential that you as a manager do not lose sight of your employees and keep in touch.

To ensure that your expectations (and specifications) regarding the work to be done are met, defining the horizon of expectations together and providing targeted feedback is crucial. 

The regular integration of feedback circles offers opportunities for the project- or task-related feedback as well as space for the tried-and-tested "open ear": Use the exchange to get a picture of your employees' well-being: How are your people doing in their new work environment, remote workspace or hybrid forms of collaboration?

 

4. Trust your employees and lead the company in a results-oriented way!

Motivation must be ensured when work is carried out remotely - this is the only way to achieve your corporate goals in the long term. With the right approach, productivity in remote workspaces is even higher than in traditional offices: According to a study by the DAK , employees who are experienced in new work feel that they are more productive when working remotely than in the office.

However, when transitioning to remote work, managers often tend to exercise more control than they do in the office setting.

Therefore, give your employees room for freedom of decision by delegating responsibility within an appropriate framework. A lived culture of trust is proven to increase job satisfaction and thus the motivation of your employees: Laut Statista , 86% of employees state that it would increase their job satisfaction if they were given responsibility. 

Therefore, increased room to maneuver also strengthens the independent work of your employees remotely or in hybrid teams.

In combination with asynchronous communication, this creates important freedom for you as a manager: You can devote more time to strategic issues or develop your teams further. Ultimately, everyone wins.

Contact us

Do you have questions on employee motivation in remote work? Are you interested in working with us, or would you like to exchange further information on topics related to hybrid work and new work? We look forward to your inquiry and an exchange!

Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email
Share on whatsapp
Share on print

More recommended articles:

Get to know our authors!

Learn more about RemPro and our proven solutions. Together we make your company fit for location-independent working.

Wie bleiben Ihre Mitarbeiter und Teams im Homeoffice motiviert?

Sicherlich eine der Schlüsselfragen für Führungskräfte: Wie bleiben Ihre Mitarbeiter und Teams motiviert und leistungsfähig – gerade auch im Homeoffice? In diesem Artikel haben wir kurz und knapp vier Ansätze für Sie zusammengefasst, die Sie im Führungsalltag bei der Motivation Ihrer Mitarbeiter und Teams unterstützen.

Diese vier Ansätze unterstützen Sie tagtäglich bei der Motivation Ihrer Mitarbeiter

Mangelnde Motivation und Produktivitätsverluste im Homeoffice betrafen im Jahr 2020 laut Statista knapp jedes fünfte deutsche Unternehmen. Besonders im deutschen Mittelstand sorgte die Veränderung bestehender Arbeitsmodelle hin zu hybriden Arbeitsformen und Homeoffice im vergangenen Jahr für Unsicherheit am Arbeitsplatz – sowohl bei einzelnen Mitarbeitern als auch in ganzen Teams und Abteilungen. Eins ist sicher: Mitarbeiter benötigen jetzt mehr Orientierung als je zuvor. Wie bleiben Mitarbeiter im Homeoffice motiviert?
homeofficepflicht unternehmensberatung münchen

Menschliche Nähe, der kontinuierlicher Austausch und ein kollegiales Wir-Gefühl – wichtige Aspekte, die bei dezentraler Führung in virtuellen Teams besonderer Aufmerksamkeit bedürfen. Untenstehend haben wir vier konkrete Ansätze zusammengestellt, mithilfe derer Sie die Mitarbeitermotivation und Produktivität in Ihrem Unternehmen langfristig halten und sogar steigern können.

1. Kommunizieren Sie die Vision Ihres Unternehmens kontinuierlich!

Die Ziele, Werte und Visionen eines Unternehmens rücken durch das operative Tagesgeschäft häufig in den Hintergrund. Insbesondere bei der Umsetzung hybrider Arbeitsmodelle ist es wichtig, durch eine kontinuierliche Kommunikation mit jedem einzelnen Mitarbeiter in Verbindung zu bleiben.

Durch die regelmäßige Kommunikation Ihrer Unternehmensstrategie und Unternehmens- ziele erzeugen Sie im Homeoffice einen klaren, gedanklichen Rahmen für Ihre Mitarbeiter. Auch für Sie als Führungskraft ist ein ständiges ins Bewusstsein rufen der Unternehmensziele sehr hilfreich. Diese Sichtweise hilft Ihnen als Führungskraft über den operativen Alltag hinaus zu blicken – und sorgt so für ein Weiterdenken in Bezug auf die strategische Ausrichtung des Unternehmens.

2. Setzen Sie die Zufriedenheit Ihrer Kunden als Motivator ein!

Wenn Ihren Mitarbeiter die Wirkung ihrer eigenen Arbeit nicht bewusst ist, geht auf lange Sicht nicht nur die Motivation, sondern auch die gewohnte Qualität der Ergebnisse verloren. Erinnern Sie Ihre Teams daher an den Einfluss ihrer Arbeit, indem Sie zum Beispiel positives Feedback von Kunden oder Geschäftspartner zeitnah kommunizieren und teilen.

heimarbeit jobs münchen

Gelungene Arbeitsergebnisse einzelner Mitarbeiter oder Teams können so durch Sie als Führungskraft hervorgehoben werden – und Ihre Kollegen fühlen sich auch über das Homeoffice hinaus mit ihrem Arbeitgeber und den Unternehmenszielen verbunden. Das fördert nicht nur die Motivation Ihres Teams nachhaltig, sondern auch Erfolg und die Produktivität.

3. Nutzen Sie enge Feedbackschleifen mit Ihren Mitarbeitern für einen proaktiven Austausch!

Gehen Sie die Zusammenarbeit im Homeoffice proaktiv an. Insbesondere bei dezentraler Zusammenarbeit ist es wichtig, dass Sie als Führungskraft Ihre Mitarbeiter nicht aus den Augen verlieren und von sich aus den Kontakt halten.

Damit Ihre Vorstellungen (und Vorgaben) bezüglich der zu leistenden Arbeit erfüllt werden, ist es nicht nur wichtig den Erwartungshorizont gemeinsam zu definieren, sondern auch gezielt Feedback zu geben. 

Die regelmäßige Einbindung von Feedback-Schleifen bietet neben Möglichkeiten für projekt- oder aufgabenbezogenes Feedback auch Raum für das bewährte „offene Ohr“: Nutzen Sie den Austausch, sich ein Bild über das Wohlbefinden Ihrer Mitarbeiter zu machen: Wie geht es Ihren Leuten in ihrem neuen Arbeitsumfeld, im Homeoffice oder bei hybriden Formen der Zusammenarbeit?

 

4. Vertrauen Sie Ihren Mitarbeitern und führen Sie ergebnisorientiert!

Auch im Homeoffice muss Motivation sichergestellt werden – nur so erreichen Sie langfristig Ihre Unternehmensziele. Bei richtiger Vorgehensweise ist die Produktivität im Homeoffice sogar höher als bei der klassischen Büroarbeit: Laut einer Studie der DAK empfinden Mitarbeiter, die in mobiler Arbeit geübt sind, dass sie dort produktiver sind als im Büro.

Beim Übergang zur Arbeit im Homeoffice tendieren Führungskräfte allerdings oft dazu, mehr Kontrolle als im Büroalltag auszuüben.

Geben Sie Ihren Mitarbeitern daher Raum für Entscheidungsfreiheit, indem Sie Verantwortung in angemessenem Rahmen übertragen. Eine gelebte Vertrauenskultur erhöht nachweißlich die Jobzufriedenheit und damit die Motivation Ihrer Mitarbeiter: Laut Statista geben 86 Prozent der Arbeitnehmer an, dass es ihre Jobzufriedenheit steigern würde, wenn ihnen Verantwortung übertragen wird. 

Durch einen erhöhten Handlungsspielraum wird also auch Remote oder bei hybriden Teams das eigenverantwortliche Arbeiten Ihrer Mitarbeiter gestärkt.

In Kombination mit asynchroner Kommunikation schafft dies wichtige Freiräume für Sie als Führungskraft: Sie können sich vermehrt den strategischen Fragestellungen widmen beziehungsweise Ihre Teams weiterentwickeln. Letztendlich gewinnen alle.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Sie haben Fragen zum Thema Mitarbeitermotivation im Homeoffice, sind an einer Zusammenarbeit mit uns interessiert oder wünschen weiteren Austausch zu Themen rund um die hybride Arbeit und New Work? Wir freuen uns über Ihre Anfrage und einen Austausch!

Share on linkedin
Share on xing
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on email
Share on whatsapp
Share on print

Weitere empfohene Artikel:

Lernen Sie unsere Autoren kennen!

Erfahren Sie mehr über RemPro und unsere erprobten Lösungen. Gemeinsam machen wir  Ihr Unternehmen fit für ortsunabhängiges Arbeiten.